

To: Members of the Performance

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 29 February 2024

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the PERFORMANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 7 MARCH 2024 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Monitoring Officer

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 DECLARATION OF INTERESTS (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 7 - 16)

To receive the minutes of the Performance Scrutiny Committee meeting held on the 25 January 2024 (copy attached).

5 ELECTIVE HOME EDUCATION (Pages 17 - 38)

To consider and discuss a report on the Authority's policies and procedures in relation to supporting and monitoring the delivery of Elective Home Education.

10.10am - 11am

~~~ BREAK (11am - 11.15am) ~~~~

# ARE THE COUNCIL'S CORPORATE SUPPORT FUNCTIONS EFFECTIVE? (Pages 39 - 56)

To consider a report on the progress achieved to date in addressing the two recommendations made by Audit Wales in its May 2023 report along with the Council's future plans for sufficiently resourcing its wider corporate support services' functions.

11.15pm - 12pm

# 7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 57 - 84)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

12pm - 12.20pm

### 8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

12.20pm - 12.30pm

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

# Councillors

Councillor Hugh Irving (Chair) Councillor Gareth Sandilands (Vice-Chair)

Ellie Chard Paul Keddie
Bobby Feeley Diane King
Martyn Hogg Terry Mendies
Carol Holliday Andrea Tomlin

Alan Hughes

# **Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)**

Colette Owen Neil Roberts

# **COPIES TO:**

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils